U.S. Women's Amateur Championship

The U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship marked the beginning of women’s competitive golf in this country. Along with the U.S. Amateur and the U.S. Open, the Women’s Amateur was one of the USGA’s first three championships conducted in 1895.

The Women’s Amateur has long identified some of golf’s greatest women players, many of whom have gone on to successful professional careers. The most noteworthy champion is Glenna Collett Vare, a lifelong amateur who won the Robert Cox Trophy a record six times. Second only to Vare is JoAnne Gunderson Carner, who won five Women’s Amateur Championships. Other women to secure their place in golf history include Patty Berg, Babe Didrikson Zaharias, Louise Suggs. Beth Daniel, Juli Inkster and Morgan Pressel.

Golfers from around the globe will compete in qualifying sites across the U.S. to gain one of the 156 spots in the championship field. In recent years, the field included foreign players representing Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, the People’s Republic of China, Chinese Taipei, Colombia, Germany, Great Britain (England and Scotland), Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam, Jamaica, Peru, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Sweden, Spain and Wales. In short, this event will bring a global focus to the suburban Philadelphia area.

To Visit USGA U.S. Women's Amateur Championship Website, Click Here.

To View a Full List of USGA Women's Amateur Past Champions, Click Here.

United states Golf Association

2016 U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship
Visit Rolling Green Golf Club New Website
Click Here for RGGC.org

The First Tee

News Update